Skip to main content

About Us

Directors & Staff

THF directors are individuals from across the state who are interested in the preservation of Texas history.  

Board members make an annual financial contribution (allocated to fund THF operations), support fundraising activities, volunteer on committees, and attend quarterly meetings.  Directors and their guests also are invited to quarterly meetings that include behind-the-scene tours throughout the Texas Republic.

If you are interested in becoming a director, please contact the THF office.  Directors from the Panhandle and West Texas are especially needed.


  • Bruce Elsom, Houston, Chairman
  • Sylvia Tillotson, Dallas, President
  • James Minmier, Fort Worth, Vice President
  • Patrick O. Rayes, Dallas, Treasurer
  • Carol Lipscomb, Ph. D., Fort Worth, Secretary

Honorary Directors

  • J.P. Bryan, Houston
  • Sheila Umphrey, Beaumont 


  • Jonathan Allred, Coppell    
  • John Aughinbaugh, Fort Worth    
  • Fred Bangs, Irving    
  • Dr. Robert A. Bettis, Irving    
  • Patrick J. Biggins, Corpus Christi    
  • Phil Bolton, Dallas    
  • Kitty Boyle, Irving    
  • Mark Campbell, Blanco    
  • Deborah Cartwright, Austin    
  • Brian P. Costanza, Colleyville    
  • Judy Davis, Elgin    
  • Dr. Frank de la Teja, Ph.D., Austin    
  • Tom C. Doell, Dallas    
  • Marshall J. Doke, Jr., Dallas    
  • Lewis Fisher, San Antonio    
  • Edward Fjordbak, Dallas    
  • Dr. Donald Frazier, Ph.D., Kerrville    
  • Caira Franz, Llano    
  • Barbara Gandy, Nacogdoches    
  • Glynnis Garry, M.D., Dallas    
  • Michael Graham, Dallas    
  • Eric Griffin, New Braunfels    
  • Lacy Hunt, Austin    
  • Barbara Hunter, Fredericksburg    
  • R.J. Johnson Collins, Uvalde    
  • David Magar, Claude    
  • Dian Malouf, Dallas    
  • Michael Marchant, Grapevine    
  • David Martinez, Corsicana    
  • Barbara McMahon, Garland    
  • Wiley McIlwain, Riviera    
  • Henry E. Meadows, Jr., Austin    
  • John B. Meadows, Austin    
  • Dr. Tom Middlebrook, Nacogdoches    
  • John Moore, Corpus Christi    
  • Kathy Myers, Dallas    
  • Page Patton Tucker, Dallas    
  • Sue Ann Pemberton, FAIA, San Antonio    
  • Lee Pfluger, San Angelo    
  • Robert Reichelt, Irving    
  • Kelly Rushing, Houston    
  • Michael Sabota, Flint    
  • Lenny Sadler, Amarillo    
  • Bernie Sargent, Panorama Village    
  • William J. Sibley, San Antonio    
  • Dian Graves Stai, Fredericksburg    
  • William E. Strother, Dallas    
  • Angela Styles, New Braunfels    
  • Elizabeth Susser, Corpus Christi    
  • MaryLee Taylor, Del Rio    
  • Neill Taylor, Portland    
  • Mark Terry, Kingwood    
  • Ralph Thomas, Houston    
  • Dr. Jeffrey Thompson, M.D., Dallas    
  • John Tillotson, Dallas    
  • Lane Transou, Broaddus    
  • David Tucker, Dallas    
  • Elizabeth Wahlquist, Dallas    
  • Laura Wahlquist Stockdale, Austin
  • Shannon Wilson Callewart, Dallas
  • Dr. Clark Wernecke, Ph.D., Pflugerville    
  • Hon. Ken Wise, Humble    


David Preziosi, Executive Director 

Jennifer Solomon, Operations Director

Ryann Griffin, Grants Director  

Gene Krane, Editor, Texas HERITAGE Magazine